OpenEMM Support Forum Index OpenEMM Support
Use this forum to get and provide free help regarding OpenEMM
 
 TOP   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tiscali Spa

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenEMM Support Forum Index -> Using OpenEMM
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jay0316



Joined: 14 Aug 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:52 pm    Post subject: Tiscali Spa Reply with quote

Our IT department noticed that openemm was trying to connect to the following address: mail-mx-1.tiscali.it . It was being blocked by our spam filter, but he gave it permission to connect.

I looked up the tiscali.it address and then found tiscali.com.

Is this a safe site to connect to? I noticed Tiscali is a customer of openemm and I didn't know why openemm would need to connect to their site?

I would appreciate it if anyone could give me more information.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ma
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Aug 2006
Posts: 512
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You probably want so send e-mails to recipients with Tiscali e-mail addresses.
_________________
The OpenEMM Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jay0316



Joined: 14 Aug 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, none of our recipients have that email address. OpenEMM hit our blocker software 30 - 40,000 times trying to connect to that address and generated and equivalent number of emails from the blocker software that our IT department had to sift through for over an hour to clean up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ma
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Aug 2006
Posts: 512
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 1:18 pm    Post subject: no Tiscali Reply with quote

You can search the complete source code of OpenEMM and will not find any reference to "tiscali". Your problem is unrelated to OpenEMM.
_________________
The OpenEMM Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jay0316



Joined: 14 Aug 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

-ma
Tiscali may not appear in your source code, but they appear on your website! That is a really rare coincidence that their email address would just up and pop up in our system. I only have 5 recipients in my email list and they consist of 2 of our employee addresses and 3 of my own outside email accounts. All those addresses are being used for testing purposes. We haven't even sent our first mass mailing yet.

Yet, as of right now I can't even send one email because I have 29,962 emails in openemm's queue folder!! Where did all of those email addresses come from if I only have 5!? It says the queue is full and won't send any others. They are all trying to go to addresses that are completely unrelated to our company. Clearly SPAM. One of the subjects reads: "International Pharmacy ! Get the best meds here!"

I see that as a serious issue. If we didn’t have a firewall, what would stop them emails from continuously being generated and sent out?

I really don't care whose problem it is. I really want to use this software, and I have to find a solution to deal with this issue in order to do so. So, rather than pointing out how it’s some how our fault and can no way be related to your software, how bout a few helpful suggestions as to what we might look for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenEMM Support Forum Index -> Using OpenEMM All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


SourceForge.net Logo Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group